Skip to content

The flight!

September 25, 2011

I had always told myself I’d never be able to survive a flight that lasted more than 6 hours. I also told myself that the story of my flight would likely fill a whole blog post. Wrong on both counts, Kev.

There are a couple bits of wacky that I must share with you though. First of all, I was intrigued to discover the little tv thingy in the back of the chair in front of me had a remote in it. A remote with vidja games!

The next 11 hours might be okay...

What games did they have? Mostly pretty lousy stuff. I mean, I have better stuff on my iPhone. I mean look at the game in the next picture, it must be more than 15 years old!

Note how I'm totally about to get nailed by Blanka

Holy shit, Street Fighter is on my plane.

Okay. I remember when I owned a Sega Genesis in 1993 and I got a copy of the Champion Edition of this game while on a trip to Florida. I remember being in Disneyland, the most wonderful place on earth for a kid, and wishing I could go home to Halifax so that I could play this game. Here it is now, able to be played at 30,000 feet while traveling hundreds of kilometres an hour and slurping down mouthful sized cups of Coke. Unfortunately, the thumbstick was so awful that the game was pretty much unplayable. Still, the future is here, my friends!

Speaking of the future, there was a USB port in the back of the chair too.

Hack the Plane-et.

I pictured the script for a remake of the movie Speed, except with an iPhone they had to keep charged in order to stop it from blowing up. The script culminated in Apple releasing a software update that rendered the iPhone unchargeable and a gunfight at the Genius Bar. This little daydream kept me occupied for way longer than I should admit.

We’ll end this post with a picture I took entirely for the caption.

I kept pressing this button, thinking it would cause an abortion.

Other than that, the flight was uneventful. Next time: My first night in Korea! It involves me desperately trying to adapt to cultural norms and drinking more alcohol in a two hour period than in the entire rest of my life put together.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Allegra permalink

    Alcohol? I am already perplexed. Korea, what have you done?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

