Skip to content

Four months.

January 14, 2012

I’m officially one third through my time here in Korea. That’s hard to wrap my head around. Sometimes it does feel like a fairly good amount of time has gone by, but other times it feels like it’s all just a blur. Speaking of blurs and intangible things, I have another thing to celebrate in addition to my four month anniversary.

My dreams have started to take place here.

It took quite a while, but I guess my subconscious mind has gotten comfortable at last. Now don’t worry, I’m not going to go on a long explanation about my first Korean dream (it involved a SWAT team invading my apartment to investigate the light in my fridge) and I’m not going to psychoanalyze myself here like a true self indulgent blogger. Still, I think your dreams moving to another side of the world four months after everything else is a good bit of oddness that is worth mentioning.

Does this mean I’m more moved in than ever before? Am I becoming more Korean? Is this a signal that I’ll never want to leave? Do I now ENJOY Bubble Pop? [Linked again, in case you dodged it the first time].

If I’m going to do any reflecting during this four month post, I’ll say that I’ve been very level headed about my time here. I’m not in an absolute hurry to leave, but I’m not trying to find excuses to stay here forever. It’s been a very valuable experience so far in a bunch of different ways.

I’ve had this thought for a while, but I haven’t been sure exactly where to mention it. When I was first considering coming here for a year, one of the particularly horrifying thoughts that popped up was “what if I hate it after one month and want to leave?”. I justified this to myself as a character building exercise, reminding myself that many people have to spend huge amounts of time with their regular life in limbo. I thought of exchange students, prisoners, and international businessmen. If those assholes could tough it out, so could I.

Now, luckily for me, I don’t really have to work hard to keep my chin up or anything like that. Things have been quite comfortable and easy going here. I’m glad I don’t have to count the days by scratching a tally on the wall of my apartment each night. That is one of the ways I convinced myself though: “Ahh, if you hate it, there are people who need to stick it out for much longer than one year somewhere”.

I got all my character building done in imagining the character building exercise. That’s great, because I hate building my (non Diablo) character.

As I write this, Bubble Pop has been playing in the background from when I linked it. I’m wondering if the prevalence of this song has something to do with my dreams migrating here. Maybe the K-pop has hacked into my brain and reassured me on another plane of consciousness.

The Kimchi though? I still don’t get the Kimchi.

I’d promise more reflections at the six month mark, but I imagine they’ll be rather similar. You’ll get to hear them if they’re different. I intend to play Starcraft II for at least a couple hours today, so maybe you’ll get to hear my thoughts on the Korean ladder soon.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. James permalink

    But Kimchi is delicious…

    No it isn’t. I lied just then.

Leave a Reply

